Finding Prince Charming

As a child I dreamed of Disney romances of my own. I wanted to be a princess and ride off into the sunset with my Prince Charming. I wanted nothing more than to hope for a happily ever after. After I began dating I realized that Prince Charming was going to be really difficult to find. So, there began my journey. A journey of heart break, disappointment, and a lot of hard lessons learned. I could regret everything about my choices in the dating world, but I choose not to because sometimes learning the hard way is the best way to learn. I find that I am susceptible to getting my heartbroken, due to the hopeless romantic that lives inside me. As a teenager the pressures to date can be very overwhelming. The whole dating world seems to be extravagant and exciting. It’s a world that is really difficult not to desire, but as I’ve grown through my past dating experiences realizing I’m only creating a world of garbage for myself. Yes, I said it. Garbage. There is nothing worse than finding out the one you thought was your Prince Charming is not. The pain and heartbreak that comes creates a lot of garbage. It’s emotional garbage. So I learned to take out the trash, let God in, and give it over to God to find my Prince Charming for me. The dating world of a christian should be different. “Garbage dating” needs to stop, and as christian young ladies we should take dating seriously and be constant in prayer for our Prince Charming and be wise in all our ways. One simple step is defining love from God’s perspective.

1 Corinthians 13:4-13

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;[b] it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. 11 When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.

13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.


This passage is commonly recited at weddings, and one I know nearly every word to by heart. It’s my idea of true love. It’s bigger than the childish dream I’ve grown up with about marrying Prince Charming. I absolutely love the idea of loving and to be loved in this beautiful way. Here in 1 Corinthians, the apostle Paul defines love. This is a truly heart warming passage of scripture as it lists the characteristics of what love is and what love is not. This scripture has always stuck out to me as the scripture to live by especially when pursing a godly relationship. It’s one that will be recited at my wedding and is one of my favorite passages of scripture. With love nothing else matters. God is love.
We should continually fall in love with God every day. As we continually seek His truth and strengthen our faith. In God we have an endless hope for eternity. With this faith and hope, come love. It is God’s perfect love. We have love for all that God has done for us. We have love for a Savior who lived a human life as we do full of temptations and deception, yet was perfect and endured a painful death, so that we could be made perfect.
Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.”
-John 15:13 
I would encourage each and every one of you to search for love. Stay away from the “garbage love” and open your heart to something deeper and more meaningful. Take out the trash, and do away with emotional heartache. Open your heart to the love of God. It’s so wonderful and amazing what God can do in our lives if we just have faith, keep the hope, and above all love Him.
“So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.”
-1 Corinthians 13:13
Leave a Reply

